Township Commissioners Sworn In

Yesterday was the swearing in of the township and county officials elected in November. The county ceremony was scaled back due to Covid concerns with many fewer attendants than 2019’s crowded ceremony. Monica Taylor was chosen as chair, and Elaine Schaefer as vice chair for the most diverse county council in DelCo’s history. Today (Tuesday) the judges elected to the Court of Common Pleas will get sworn in as well in Media.

Here in Nether Providence, Robert O’Connor was sworn as the 6th ward commissioner to become the longest-serving township commissioner in Nether Providence, a record 7th term. Matt Garson returned as the 2nd ward commissioner and continues as vice-president of the board. Kaitlin McKenzie was reelected as 4th ward commissioner and takes over as president of the board. Shaina Barnes and Marty Molloy were sworn in for 2 year terms for the 5th and 7th wards respectively. Kris Laubscher was sworn in for another 4 years as tax collector and I was sworn in as the township’s second constable. In her brief statements, commissioner McKenzie listed many of the board’s accomplishments over the past 4 years as well as projects coming up in the near future.

There were no changes to the usual start of term appointments except for Garden City Fire Company’s Pat O’Rourke being appointed to the vacant deputy fire marshal and emergency management coordinator positions for the township. The township’s first working meeting will be Jan 13th, where they’re expected to make appointments to the township’s boards and commissions.

Categories: Government, NPTownship